What’s hiring here

18 current openings from 4 employers. Counts reflect the listings below.

BCBA
9
RBT
8
Behavior technician
1
With advertised pay
3

Current openings

18 roles

Most recent first.

  1. Behavior Technician

    Step Forward ABA

    Behavior technician
    • Location: Chicago, IL
    • Employment type: Full-time
    $20.00 - $28.00 per hour
    View details

Job alerts

Save your ABA job preferences

Choose your role and location. Confirm your email to receive a daily digest when new jobs match. Unsubscribe anytime.

We use this email only for job alerts. See the privacy policy.

Local job guide · IL

Working in ABA therapy in Chicago

Chicago candidates should confirm both BACB certification and Illinois LBA or LABA licensure; IDFPR began issuing these state licenses in January 2025. City labor rules also give RBTs a local comparison point, though the minimum wage is a legal floor, not typical ABA pay.

18 current listings are shown for Chicago, Illinois. Roles include BCBA (9), RBT (8), Behavior technician (1). Employers with openings include The Place for Children with Autism (10), The Menta Education Group (5), Step Forward ABA (2).

Work arrangements listed: On site (6), Hybrid (2), Remote (1). Arrangement not specified for 9 listings. Employment types listed: Full time (7). Employment type not specified for 11 listings.

Check Illinois licensure as well as BCBA certification

Illinois IDFPR separately licenses Licensed Behavior Analysts (LBA) and Licensed Assistant Behavior Analysts (LABA). The LBA route accepts active BCBA certification or qualifying education plus a passing BCBA exam. Check the state qualification sheet for current documents and use IDFPR’s license lookup to confirm a credential.

BACB certification and an Illinois license are separate records. Ask an employer which state credential a role requires, especially before taking on analyst duties.

Sources: Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation: Behavior Analysts · Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation: Licensed Behavior Analyst: Qualifications for Licensure · Illinois General Assembly: 225 ILCS 6: Behavior Analyst Licensing Act

UIC has an urban disability-focused graduate pathway

UIC’s MS in Applied Behavior Analysis, Disability, and Diversity in Urban Society is a 40-credit program focused on supports for people with disabilities in urban communities. UIC says graduates can become eligible to sit for the BCBA exam; supervised fieldwork is optional and separate.

For technician roles, ask who provides supervision and whether training time is paid. A job title alone does not establish a credential.

Sources: University of Illinois Chicago: MS in Applied Behavior Analysis, Disability, and Diversity in Urban Society

Use Chicago’s labor standards as a floor, not a salary estimate

Since July 1, 2026, Chicago’s standard minimum wage is $17.05 an hour for employers with four or more employees. The city leave ordinance generally covers workers who reach 80 hours for an employer in Chicago within 120 days. Covered employees accrue one paid-leave hour and one paid sick-leave hour per 35 hours worked, up to 40 hours of each per benefit year. These protections are not role-specific pay estimates.

Sources: City of Chicago: Minimum Wage · City of Chicago: Paid Leave and Paid Sick Leave

Local sources checked October 3, 2026. Listing counts and advertised pay update with current openings.

Advertised pay in current listings

There isn’t enough employer-disclosed base-pay data here for a reliable role-specific comparison. Review pay stated in each current listing; the ABA salary guide explains how to compare pay units, schedules, and offers.

Statewide BCBA hiring context

BACB’s 2026 report, using Lightcast data, counted 4,835 online job postings requiring or preferring BCBA or BCBA-D certification across Illinois in 2025, compared with 4,680 in 2024. These are historical statewide postings, with duplicates removed—not current vacancies in Chicago, RBT openings, or salary estimates.

Source: BACB: US Employment Demand for Behavior Analysts, 2010–2025.

Credentials and job preparation

Check each employer's credential requirements and the state rules that apply to the role. Our BCBA certification guide explains the qualification pathway. The RBT training and certification guide covers technician preparation.

Use the ABA job offer checklist to compare supervision, paid hours, cancellations, and benefits.

Questions about working in Chicago

What kinds of roles are hiring in Chicago?

Current listings include BCBA (9), RBT (8), Behavior technician (1). Counts reflect the active listings shown above.

Which employers have openings in Chicago?

Employers represented include The Place for Children with Autism (10), The Menta Education Group (5), Step Forward ABA (2), Above and Beyond Therapy (1). Open a listing to confirm the employer’s current details.

Can I compare pay for these jobs?

There isn’t enough employer-disclosed base-pay data here for a reliable role-specific comparison. Check pay details in each listing and use the ABA salary guide to compare pay units and schedules.

Are any jobs labeled remote or hybrid?

1 listing is labeled remote. 2 listings are labeled hybrid. Work arrangement is not specified for 9 listings. Confirm the arrangement with the employer.

How often are these job listings updated?

Employer feeds are checked weekly, and listings can change between refreshes. Confirm that an opening is still active with the employer before applying.

Does BCBA certification by itself show that I am licensed in Illinois?

No. Illinois issues separate LBA and LABA licenses. Check the IDFPR license lookup and confirm the role’s state credential.

Sources: Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation: Behavior Analysts · Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation: Licensed Behavior Analyst: Qualifications for Licensure

Is Chicago’s $17.05 minimum wage a typical RBT or BCBA salary?

No. It is the legal floor for standard employers with four or more employees, effective July 1, 2026. Compare actual offers for role-specific pay and benefits.

Sources: City of Chicago: Minimum Wage

What does UIC’s ABA master’s program require?

UIC lists 40 credits. Review its current degree page for admissions requirements and how coursework differs from supervised fieldwork.

Sources: University of Illinois Chicago: MS in Applied Behavior Analysis, Disability, and Diversity in Urban Society